Washington Football Team Logo
Extremeskins

Subscription services that are worth it

Spaceman Spiff

Can't go anywhere these days without seeing something that'll cost 10-15 bucks a month.  Everything from razors and household items to news services like Apple's News+ or sports coverage from The Athletic...10 bucks here, 5 bucks there...it adds up.  And it can get hard to make sense of what's good vs. what's crap.

So let's hear it, Tailgate.  What subscription services do you recommend and why?  

This is a great idea for a thread.

I use and like:

Amazon Prime (cannot live without it)

Netflix and Hulu

Dollar shave club

The Washington Post

I have a subscription to CBS Sports/247 Sports' college sports pay site, mostly because ESPN doesn't cover non-powerhouses anymore and a friend of mine from college is the main writer for WVU.

Audible (I get a 1 year subscription for Xmas every year)

Internet -- I use cable, wish there was a non sucky fiber option.

YouTubeTV - need it for the sports, their cloud DVR is awesome, except my World Cup recordings disappeared...

XBox Live Gold - its about $45 to $50 per year

Netflix - less and less movies. For those their physical disc service was always great

VPN - similar price to Xbox Live Gold

NFL game pass. You watch all preseason games live. During the regular season you get the games when theyre over. There's breakdowns, hard knocks, America's game and many other football shows.

I'm not exactly sure how the exactly the regular season works yet cause this is my first year. But it's a lot of content for $99 a year.

This has allowed me to dump direct TV, which I never watched except for football. $99 a year sure beats $150 a month 

I'm one of those dummies who pays for EVERYTHING. Full cable TV, Netflix, HULU, Prime, Sirius satellite radio. My media bills every month are through the roof. I've been counseled about narrowing but I can't help myself. I stay home a lot at night and I don't want to miss anything.