Washington Football Team Logo
Extremeskins

A dad and his son...

codeorama

As some of you know I was married for 10 years. We struggled for 6 to have a child. When he finally came, his mother changed. When he was 2, his mom left.  I have raised him on my own for the past 9 years.  

As some of you know, his mother filed in court for 6 weeks in the summer.  My son was devastated.  He did not want to visit her at all, let alone 6 weeks.  I had to hire a lawyer. I'm just a teacher, I'm not rich.  Before I hired a lawyer, I talked to my son about visiting his mother.  How he felt, what he wanted.  He wanted no part. At that point, I couldn't hire a crappy lawyer, I had to go with the best, even though I couldn't really afford it. 

As things went along, we won each small battle.  I'm not going to get into all the details because it's a lot of stuff, but it has been an extremely hard 4 months.  

Finally. Yesterday. She gave up.

She is withdrawing her court case and said that she can't afford to proceed and that she will honor my son's wishes.  If he wants to visit her, she will do what she can.  If he doesn't want to, he doesn't have to visit her at all.  (I just have to give up the Child Support).  No brainer.  I told my lawyer.  Its over.

My son cried for a long time. He was so happy. He has been so stressed out and worried over the past 4 months.   

I'm so happy. Thanks for listening and for all the good wishes.

8 minutes ago, codeorama said:

As some of you know I was married for 10 years. We struggled for 6 to have a child. When he finally came, his mother changed. When he was 2, his mom left.  I have raised him on my own for the past 9 years.