Washington Football Team Logo
Extremeskins

Next Day Thread: Decimating Dallas and Final Studs/Dud Awards!

KDawg

Sam Howell. It's no secret I've been pining for him since the 2021 Draft Thread. And he delivered.

If I want to be taken seriously, pretty much anywhere, I also have to be real. The interception he threw was absolutely awful. He was trying to drop it in over the top of three defenders but he threw off his back foot and it resulted in a red zone turnover. It's how you learn, but it's similar to a throw Heinicke made earlier this season that I was critical of. 

Howell, though, hit receivers in stride, gave them room for YAC and delivered two nearly perfect deep balls when pass plays were called. I am more than comfortable going into the 2023 season with Sam Howell as our quarterback. Howell and a capable veteran backup with Fromm on the PS and drafting a guy like Hendon Hooker in the later rounds would be a "good enough to get it done" room.

Howell, Brissett (name your vet backup), Fromm, Hooker.

But we desperately need to upgrade the offensive line and our offensive coordinator. 

I like our running back room. I had speed back as a need for our offseason, and I'm not entirely sure I still don't have some value in that, but a room of Robinson, Gibson, Patterson and Williams is a pretty solid group. 

Receiver we are in relatively good shape. Samuel will be interesting to see what happens with him. If he's cut we save 5.8 million net:

image.png.68d74fb9e6d25f88eb3de889f584fe64.png

That's where I could believe our first round pick could be used on a receiver - again. If Boutte or Smith-Njigba are sitting there at our pick I wouldn't be the least bit surprised to see us draft them. Regardless, a room with McLaurin, Dotson, Samuel, Brown, etc., is relatively cheap and effective. Dotson's explosiveness was on full display today. As was McLaurin's.