Washington Football Team Logo
Extremeskins

An unbelievable positive high school sports story

codeorama

Some of you know, I've been a HS baseball coach for a long time. However, a few years ago, I became a teacher at the HS that I attended and live 2 minutes away from.  Its where I've always wanted to be. 

The baseball job was taken and they asked me to take the JV softball job. I said no, but they talked me into it. I had no desire to coach girls. I even made a post at that time about how difficult girls were compared to boys.

This year, the Varsity Softball coach left and they immediately asked me to take the job. I said no again, but they talked me into it.  The varsity team has had 10 years of issues with players and parents not getting along. Players hating each other, parents hating each other.  People warned me not to take it. I did anyway because I felt it would get me closer to the baseball job.

This whole year, it's been really really hard.  I don't have a daughter or sister. Its hard for me to relate and I'm always walking on eggshells.  I've been hard on them.  They have to bring notes when they miss practice and they have to run if they miss unexcused.  That was tough but that was the law.  I made them all compete for their positions. Everyone got fair chances every day at practice.  Several were mad that they weren't handed their starting jobs.  Had to meet with several parents to explain what I was doing.  I want competition. I want them to be afraid of someone else playing over them. I want everyone to feel like they are getting a chance and can win a spot.

Monday, I was called into the office and told that I was accused of calling a girl the P word.  2 weeks prior, I quoted Charles Barkley "Its easier to tame a tiger than fire up a ****".  The girls had played timid and needed to understand that I'd rather have to calm them down than to have to fight to get them excited to play.