Washington Football Team Logo
Extremeskins

Political Science major needs advice knowing when to shut up

Mocountyskins

Hopefully some of my fellow ES brethren are/were political science majors and can give me some pointers.

Originally I was a student at George Washington and after lots of partying the expected happened. I was forced to leave because of bad grades. I got my act together over the last 2 years and graduated from a community college (lol thank god) Well I am going back to school to finish off my four year degree at The University of Arkansas and I start in 2 weeks. I am new to the political science major and I am very concerned not just for obvious reasons but because I have found that politics are something that I am very passionate about and I am not sure when I need to shut up and just regurgitate the professors info for the sake of my grade.

I'm not the one to stand up and start arguing about something I mostly sit quietly and mind my own business. But when it comes time for me to present something, write a paper or give my opinion I'm not sure how much I should really say. As some of you have seen from my previous posts I guess you could say I am "out there" 

Things such as "You act like the courts are actually following the rules and not breaking the laws" or "The media is in bed with the government and is spreading bs" or "Alex Jones is an actor who is purposely discrediting real alternative news by acting like some whack job on tv"

Basically I need to know when I should just shut up and just agree and repeat everything that I am told. My freshman year I took a class called Ethnomusicology. I got an F on a paper because I said that the music people listen to is influenced by your society. So the next paper that I wrote in the class I repeated everything that the teacher said "White people like guitars because it is in our DNA to like guitars" and I got a B.