Washington Football Team Logo
Extremeskins

Strahan Calls Out Eli Manning!

pjfootballer

I'm going to pretend that I'm TR1 today. Found this article/blog, whatever you want to call it.

http://sports.aol.com/fanhouse/2007/07/10/giants-michael-strahan-i-need-eli-manning-to-mature-now/

Giants' Michael Strahan: 'I Need [Eli Manning] to Mature Now'

Posted Jul 10th 2007 3:24PM by Dan Benton

Filed under: NY Giants, NFC East, New York, The Word

Giants defensive end Michael Strahan, who holds the NFL record for sacks in a single season, is starting to feel his age.

"I always tell them (media) I'm retiring every year," Strahan said. "I've been saying I'm going to retire for the past five years ... who knows, man. Every year I go day to day, game to game. Some days I wake up and I think there is no way I can do it. Other days I wake up and I think I can do it for another five years. We'll see."

Based on that comment, you'd think the pressure to win a championship is at an all time high. And, actually, it is. Strahan realizes that he doesn't have many opportunities left and that each chance could be the last one. He also realizes that other players, namely Eli Manning, need to step up in order for him to hoist that Super Bowl trophy.

"You don't say, 'Well, we can win in two years or three years.' I don't have two or three years right now. I'm thinking of winning right now. They say Eli (Manning) is going to mature. Well, I need him to mature now. The thing about this season is that the sense of urgency is greater than it has ever been."Quite a few players have been singling Manning out this offseason, calling for him to finally break out. Whether or not that happens, remains to be seen. However, it's clear that he's not going to get that five-year window most young quarterbacks get. It has become apparent that it's now or never for Manning, as well as Strahan.

Photos: New York's Top Athletes

Comments [57]PermalinkEmail ThisLinking BlogsShare This