Washington Football Team Logo
Extremeskins

What could my son give his teacher, tomorrow is her last day, she has cancer... :(

codeorama

My son really likes his teacher, she made him feel safe and comfortable when we had issues with my son's mother.  His teacher has been out sick quite a bit and she let the students know that she has cancer.  He was really sad and asked if we could get her something. He wants to write her a card, but asked if we could get her a small gift.  

I'm not really good with things like this.  We are not rich and I'd say 20 dollars is probably the amount that would be appropriate. My first reaction was to get a gift card to coldstone ice cream or something along those lines.

Does anyone have any better ideas?

(just to be clear, she has not indicated that it is terminal, she told the kids she'd be back next year.)

$16 at Amazon.com

I used to bring these to hospital visitations, they are excellent "presence" reminders.

I would often see them on their lap table for weeks, because they thought of our church and the folks who were thinking about them and praying for them even though they couldn't be there.

57a278e724ef4.jpg

I think hands down the card will mean more to her than anything else. 

In fact, if you have a way to keep in touch, sending her another card later to let her know you're still thinking of her will probably really boost her spirits. 

She's probably going to be spending a fair amount of time in bed, so something like a fuzzy blanket or comfy socks might be nice, especially if he has some idea what she might like.

Something like Coldstone isn't a bad idea either.

You might also want to contact the school secretary. She may be aware of what others are doing to support the teacher, or be able to put you in touch with the teacher's family to ask them for suggestions. 

Just now, dfitzo53 said: