Washington Football Team Logo
Extremeskins

The painful responsibility of dog ownership...knowing when its time to let go

ljs

I don't get on here much these days, but maybe a few of you remember me. I'm a former K9 officer, and have had my dog since we both retired 8 years ago. My dog is 2 weeks from his 14th bday, and I have finally had to make the decision, its time to let him go. It's heart wrenching, a multitude of emotions. I know many of you have posted RIP's for you beloved canine pals, so you get it.

Elmo doesn't have cancer, no other terminal illness. His organs are just fine. His problem- arthritis. Its crazy to think that arthritis would be the reason to euthanize your dog. However, his has progressed so bad over the last couple of years, that for a year he can't go up or down stairs on his own, he started pooping in his sleep randmonly over the last 6 months, because he can't tell when he has to go. In the last 3 months I've had to hold him while he does poo, so he doesnt' fall over. In the last 2 days, he hasn't been able to pee without me holding him up (I have a back leg harness). And although he is alert when awake, likes to eat and gets playful (barks like crazy while I'm cheering for the Redskins. But In the last 6 months Elmo has gone from being able to walk down the block to walking only a few feet, and now can't even stand on his own for more than 5-10 seconds.

Determining your dogs quality of life has to be answered on a case by case basis. To the people who have encouraged me to put him down sooner, I've said, "If I was in a wheel chair would you put me down?" I think I've realized that is no longer a valid comparison. I know the pain of his joints has to be hurting, I can see in his eyes he is tired. I know his quality of life consists of food, me petting him and sleeping all day. He has lost so much weight from not being able to exercise.