Washington Football Team Logo
Extremeskins

MSN: Microsoft is Scrapping Internet Explorer

Zguy28

MSN: Microsoft is Scrapping Internet Explorer

http://www.msn.com/en-us/money/technologyinvesting/microsoft-is-scrapping-internet-explorer/ar-AA9ThZo?ocid=ansQuartz11

The end is finally in sight for Microsoft’s long-fraught Internet Explorer. At the Microsoft Convergence conference Monday in Atlanta, Chris Capossela, Microsoft’s head of marketing, said the new flagship browser for Windows, which was announced in January and is codenamed Project Spartan, will not be associated with the Internet Explorer brand.

While Internet Explorer will still exist on Windows 10 for compatibility purposes, it will take a back seat to the new browser.

Rest at link. And there was great rejoicing!

The article hits the nail on the head - the reputation of IE is the problem, and it's irreparable at this point.

I work in the IT field... it's amazing what I hear people say about browsers that's just not true. (actually, it's amazing what i hear people say about many things tech-related that just aren't true, including like 1/2 the people that work in the field...) Most people seem to be about 3-5 years behind the times, reciting things that are no longer true. I used to try to give them a more accurate view of how things are (when asked) with the major browsers, but I quickly found out that was a waste of time.

So when people say things about how insecure or terrible IE is I just nod my head and smile because anything else is a waste of time.

It's interesting to see situations where what people think is significantly more important than what reality is. This is definitely one of them. It goes right on the list with a bunch of apple-inspired incorrectness too.

That said I shed no tear for the death of Active-X.