Washington Football Team Logo
Extremeskins

Rant: Radio Stations and Their Pathetic Playlists

RedlightG20

You know what really grinds my gears? Radio stations that play the same crap music over and over again.

First, let me mention that there's not much radio selection where I live out in the sticks. For my tastes, its either DC101 or ESPN980. When I walk out of work at 5pm, DC101 is on my radio, and usually playing the same old junk. I used to be a manager and DJ for my college radio station, and today's radio makes me sick.

Listen to DC101 in the afternoon around 5pm. You're almost guaranteed to hear songs from Chili Peppers, Staind, Offspring, Seether, Foo Fighters and Nickelback at least once every hour, and during the peak time of rush hour, no less! Sorry, there is much better music out there, try playing some of it.

I know this has been going on since forever, but ****, you would think that with the increasing popularity of internet music downloads, which lets people listen to and purchase music from an infinite library, radio stations would try to compete for listeners by NOT PLAYING THE SAME 30 SONGS OVER AND OVER AGAIN. :shot:

Radio used to be the starting point for new music to be broadcast to the masses. Now I'm not so sure anymore.

Anyone agree?:rant:

unfortunately the DJs dont have a choice

stations are paid big bucks to push songs via under the table brokers, etc.

every radio station wants you to think that the djs are going through a big s tack of records, picking out the ones that you might like

just not the case. radio sucks.

I agree. I used to listen to 99.5 all the time until I kept hearing the same songs. I think in one day I heard the same song at least 3 times over a 5 hour period. I feel like radio stations only play the most popular songs and thats it. Hardly ever hear any of the new stuff and they never play older songs. It's annoying. That's why I have my ipod

radio is no different than the current ticket situation.