Washington Football Team Logo
Extremeskins

Grieving advice...or something like that

BRAVEONTHEWARPATH93

Just learned that my grandpa passed away. Not sure how but he was 88 and he wasn't sick beforehand.

The guy basically shaped me into who I am today and was the true "father figure" in my life. I at school in Philadelphia and will probably be headed home to the DMV pretty soon.

Anyways (I honestly can't believe I'm doing this lol), is it kind of odd that I seem at peace with everything? I cried and carried on for about 15 minutes but I'm fine now. I kept all the old tickets of games we went to (Yankees, Orioles, Nats. He was a huge baseball fan and is the main reason why I am a Bombers fan. He was from Harlem) and went through them and reminisced. Whenever I came home, he would alway have finance/accounting articles (My major is finance) for me from the WP. I've been reading through those as well. I remember us watching the original Star Wars movies as well and I'm about to fire those up as well for old time sake lol. My eyes are still welling up every now and then.

Anyway, I am scared that I may be holding something in and I know that that isn't healthy. I'm no doctor (and this is the first major death I've experienced in 20 years of life) so maybe this is how I cope?

Our last encounter was Christmas and we had a nice, long convo and it was great. 

Any thoughts? 

(PS....I don't really want to go in-depth with my family because they are all very hysterical so I thought I'd turn to a bunch of random strangers that I've never met before lol). 

Thanks guys

Whatever happens naturally, can't force tears. A 15 minute session seems about right, then aftershocks here and there. Memorial service will probably give you another wave of emotion. Just deal with it how you deal with it.

The way you speak of your grampa is a great honor to him, if only every man could earn that same praise. RIP to him, and I'm sorry for your loss.