Washington Football Team Logo
Extremeskins

Help for a Conflicted Christian

Vilandil Tasardur

Allow me to preface this topic by saying: I understand that many of you will disagree with the views I present. I'm not asking for the views to be discussed purely for the sake of discussing them. Such topics are wonderful points of conversation, but I'm asking that we discuss those in other threads. What I'm asking for, is advice on where to turn based on my views.

For those that don't know, I'm recently married and recently moved back to the DMV after living five years in Pittsburgh. I'm living in the Laurel/College Park area, but I begin studying at George Mason for my masters with the coming semester (yeah, it'll be a rough commute). All of my background is in Paleontology and Evolutionary Biology. I have done a lot of work on fossils (yes, some dinosaurs) and I am going to be doing my thesis studying fossil whales.

How does this tie in to faith? Well, naturally given my background, I am not what people call a "young earth" creationists and I am certainly not a "biblical literalist". Not just as it applies to the story of creation, but all throughout the bible, my wife and I believe that the bible tells wonderful stories and has powerful messages that go beyond the literal words in the bible. From reading the many religious threads here on ES, I HAVE to believe that we are not alone in this belief.