Washington Football Team Logo
Extremeskins

Countering the Eagles wide (9 tech?) DE rush

ToaCommander

Disclaimer. this is my first thread and I'm no football expert.

Watching last night's Eagles vs Falcons SNF game, it was interesting watching Jim Wasburn's d-line employ its DE's (Trent Cole and Jason Babin) so wide and attack the tackles. Tyson Clabo (LT) got handled by Cole that Matt Ryan had problems all throughout the game despite having 4 TDs. Michael Turner did have some nice runs earlier in the game but he and the oline struggled for large parts of the game because Cole was getting under Clabo's block and shutting down the run.

Now, we have the cowboys up next but when we do meet the eagles, how can we counter the 9 wide front employed by the Eagles? What's the best way our o-line can counter those formations in the run game and passing game?

I thought with a DE lined up so wide, it would be better to run straight at DE and exploit the big gap between DE and DT?? But the Falcons apparently struggled going up the gut vs DTs or even running at the DEs.

Would really appreciate your football views.

I feel like you need to take control of their weak line backing corp by penetrating that gap between the end and the tackles, and hit those line backers in the mouth. I don't know if anyone noticed but Casey Mathews looked so lost at time, running around the tackles when Turner already ran between his center and guard. He had no idea where the ball was countless amounts of times.

If you send the DE's out so wide to rush the QB, then you can counter it with some draw plays. Put Helu in the backfield. Dude is fast and has a burst of speed. If he can escape initial contact the dude can find a hole and make people miss.

Once the 'Skins burn the Eagles on a few of the runs, they will stop spreading Cole & Babin so wide.