Washington Football Team Logo
Extremeskins

A Question for teachers

Trippster

I am a teacher and I remember learning in one of my education classes that if x% of the students get y% or better on a test, then you can move forward. If not, you continue to work on those concepts until that number is achieved. Does anyone remember what those numbers are? I googled it, but couldn't find the answer.

I didn't learn that in my teaching classes, but I think it's more than just test scores to know when to move on. Realistically, we have to move on anyway and provide intervention to those kids who don't get it, because we have to cover all of the curriculum. But you also have to take into consideration how the kid is able to show his knowledge- some kids know the material but are bad test takers, so just because they bomb the test doesn't mean they don't get it. You also need to use other types of formative assessments and observation to be able to tell if a kid gets it.

I'm sure you know all of this already, and I'm sorry I don't have the formula you seek.

Staying with content is a punishment for students who studied or understood it. You need to find ways to get the students who didn't do well to stay with you and work with them. Sometimes they don't do well because they really do struggle. But for the most part I find that most students who don't do well have terrible study habits or they stay up playing Xbox all night.

It doesn't work that way now. We have a week by week schedule that tells us where we have to be. When students are behind, we have to spiral back and find ways to remediate them. It's all about the SOL test now.

exactly. It sucks, but we just have to keep going and hope the kids who didn't get it get it through interventions.

Sounds like a great movie line.
I immediately thought of this...

As I wrote it, it reminded me more of something from the best CD-i game of all time, Laser Lords.