Washington Football Team Logo
Extremeskins

Thinking About Getting An Ipad

Chiefinonhaze

Is this a good or bad idea? I'm debating on whether I should get a laptop, or an Ipad. And I have no idea what kind of laptop to get....

I already have a laptop, but its virtually a desktop because there is no battery. It has to be plugged in, in order to work.

Any advice?

I'm a college student, will this be useful for me? People say its just like an itouch....

Reading websites/email/online books etc. has never been easier, but its difficult to do real work on it, like type papers. You can get a wireless keyboard to make typing easier, but without all the software you take for granted on a PC/Mac, it becomes appliance-like.

As a college student, you'll want a laptop. Personally, I'd go the ultraportable route. What are you looking to do with it and how much are you looking to spend?

Well I have a laptop, it's just really heavy and has no battery, so its basically a desktop.

My mom is buying it for me, so I don't want to dig deep in her pockets. She would buy me a macbook If I wanted, but that 1000, I don't want to waste that much on a laptop.

I figured an IPAD would be the perfect compliment to a desktop/laptop.

The idea of owning an ipad was better than the actual thing itself. It's good, but for me I only find myself using it occasionally when i'm sitting on a couch and just want to look up a website like this for a few minz. 99.5% of the time I just sit at my pic.

Chip was right about the non flash, you can download other browsers like cloud that have flash in it, but it's just not the same. The Ipad2 (which my wife has) has the facetime feature, but it's worthless for us because we don't know anybody else who has it, so we can't connect with them. It's just a big Iphone (without the phone)

I'm a college student, will this be useful for me? People say its just like an itouch....

It is a big itouch.

Useful matters to the user :)