Washington Football Team Logo
Extremeskins

This is an example of why being a teacher really sucks...

codeorama

First, let me say that I love teaching.  Being a teacher really helps me as a single parent.  It also allows me to coach baseball.  

I'm a really good teacher.  My students love me.  I feel good.  Everyone in the school treats me like a king because I get the highest SOL scores and the students speak highly of me and have gone out of there way to show their appreciate on many many occasions by telling administrators etc..

So, 2 weeks ago, we had an incident in class.  I teach inclusion. I have a co-teacher and a teacher's assistant.  The co teacher and assistant are not as well liked because they are more old school.  They don't deal with the kids the same way I do.  So, the assistant catches 3 students cheating.  She discreetly goes up to one of the students and asks to see the paper he has.  She doesn't make a big deal over it because she's trying to correct the situation and get him to do what he's supposed to without writing him up.  He blows up, starts accusing her of getting in his face, won't give her the paper. She's basically like my grandmother. She's being nice, not yelling, just asking and he's screaming at her.  Finally, after this goes on for 2 minutes or so, she asks me for help. I walk over and ask, what's the problem. He says she's in his face. I say "She's not in your face, she's trying save you the trouble of getting written up for cheating".  Long story short, I have to ask him to leave the room because he won't calm down. He gets up and tries to push through me rather than walking around me, I don't give ground, I just laughed and said "Really? That's what you're going to do?"  So, Rather than pressing charges or escalating the situation, I took him to the dean and said this is what he did, I'm not making a big deal of it because I've never had any problems with him.