Washington Football Team Logo
Extremeskins

Anyone else unemployed?

dcoles11

So whats your story? What is your day like? How depressed are you?

Here in my story. I graduated from college with a Poly Sci degree and had no idea what I wanted to do. Had no interest in going to grad or law school, basically because I couldn't afford to rack up anymore student loan debt.

I was a baseball player in college and missed it a lot after college so I decied to take a full-time substitute teaching position at a high school in Charlotte and coach baseball.

Loved coaching baseball and thought I could do the teaching for a living so I decied to start going to school at night to get my teaching licence.

I got to the point where the only thing I had left before I got my licence was student teaching, which I was trying to avoid, here in North Carolina if you get a teaching job while you are in the process of getting your licence you don't have to do student teaching, you just get observed 3 times in your first or second semeters of teaching and that is that.

Just as I was hoping I got offered a teaching job like 3 days before school started in 07.

The Plan was to take the first semester to get my feet under me, get used to the whole teaching thing and then let my school come observe me 2nd semester to take care of student teaching and finish my licence.

Well about two months into teaching my principal informs that my position is being eliminated because they estimated too high on how many kids were in the freshman class. They stick me in ISS (in school suspension) and tell me that the first social studies position that comes open will be mine.

I stick with ISS until the end of the year when a social studies position comes open, only to be told that they are not going to hire any coaches or anyone with less than 5 years experience for the position, based on the fact that the social studies test scores were low.