Washington Football Team Logo
Extremeskins

REAL Caps fans

rdsknbill

I have been reading all of these "Caps" threads in amazement and a bit of disgust. And if you feel you have to trash me , go ahead. I can take it, but here is my take

Before this team started winning, were any of you Caps fans, much less Hockey fans?

I started playing youth hockey in the Capital Beltway leagued in 1972. TWO years before Abe Pollin brought an NHL franchise to Washington. After the team was established, they reached out to the hockey programs in the area. They made many accommodations to the youth programs with regards to tickets, and allowed the teams that were vying for a league title to play on the CAP CENTER ICE for that age groups championship game (I played on that ice four times). Win or lose, BOTH teams (and their families) got free tickets to the game that day. The championship team (from each age group) was invited to the locker room after the post game team meeting. I met guys like Al Iafrate, and still have a stick given to me from Mike Gartner. These were my heroes growing up , along with the Redskins players that I saw on Sunday

This is what Capitals hockey is all about.

Now I know that the All mighty buck is King, but it is nice to remember when the Caps were a humble franchise and had to EARN everything they got.

That said, I didn't hate the Pens, I just hated the fact that we didn't have players like Lemieux or Jagr (until he stole from us some years later) to compete with them. We did our best with Iafrate and Gartner, later with Bondra, Simon, Hunter and YES Gonchar.

My point here is that some of the bandwagon venom and ignorance that is thrown at the Pens organization is misplaced. The Pens were almost lost due to the idiocy of the PA governor Ed Rendell (unfortunately the Asshat is STILL the governor), but Lemieux saved the franchise and kept them in Pittsburgh, despite the opposition from our ****ty state Govt.