Washington Football Team Logo
Extremeskins

Dr Snyde-love or: How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Love the Mark

BruinSkin

After the rumors broke about the Redskins interest in Mark Sanchez, I expected ES to be ablaze with rabid, angry fans. I was right. I found most of the board in staunch opposition to the possibility of drafting Sanchez. I found most ES'ers to be in one of four camps.

JC supporter -- opposed to any quarterback move

JC detractor -- opposed to trading for Sanchez but grab him if he falls #13

JC detractor -- not opposed to trading up for Sanchez

JC detractor -- willing to give Campbell a shot this year but not draft Sanchez

I want to set the record straight on Mark Sanchez. As a current USC student, I have seen 8 of 16 starts by Sanchez in person, with the others coming by way of television. I feel that my scouting report is a bit more intimate than you might read elsewhere since I have a familiarity with the background of the USC program and Mark as a player. I apologize in advance for the length, but I needed the space to lay out a full explanation, without leaving any details out.

Strengths:

-Pocket Awareness

He avoids the rush well and is fairly mobile, but he won't be going Michael Vick anytime soon (scrambling, not dog fighting). Sanchez has the ability to side step the rush and find an open receiver.

-Toughness

Some of you may think that it’s impossible to quantify this. Three weeks before the season opener at Virginia, Sanchez dislocated his left kneecap in warm-ups (no ligament damage). After sitting out two weeks, Sanchez came back, started the opener, and threw 3 TDs good for 338 yards. Redskins fans will remember this injury as that Campbell, too, suffered from a dislocated knee but recovered nicely without any lingering effects.