SHOULD WE redo Taylor's contract?

Larry

20 Sacks total for Carter and Taylor  

187 members have voted

1. 1. 20 Sacks total for Carter and Taylor

• Over
    • Under
    • Push

OK, I've been thinking. (Which, I'll admit, I'm not very good at. :) )

NFLPA.org doesn't seem to list player's salaries on there, any more, so I'm going to have to take a WAG at some numbers.

But what I've been hearing is that Taylor's scheduled to make $7.5M this year. I'm going to assume that his contract salary for next year is pretty close to that. (It won't be less, but I'm going to assume it's not much more, either.)

Now, granted, that's a lot of money to tie up in a player. OTOH, at least this year, we have the money.

Whereas, if we do a new contract, then we're going to have to make it a longer contract, with a big bonus and smaller salary for the first two years. (And, wouldn't the Deion Sanders rule mean that the third year of the contract would have to be gynormous?)

And that means "lots of dead money". To a player who is getting old (although he's been a Iron Man so far), and who was threatening to quit soon, anyway.

Whereas it occurs to me that if we just keep the existing contract, then we've got a player who's got a big salary, but he only gets the salary if he plays. If he quits, gets cut, or gets injured, then his cap hit goes away, too.

If he's money for two years, then we can extend him without creating an even bigger cap hit. If he gets hit by a bolt of lightening in Game 1, then there's no cap hit.

(And it eliminates the potential distraction of attempting to renegotiate a contract while the player is trying to fit in to a new DL, during training camp.)

But mostly, I'm thinking that if there's a question about how long he'll play, then there's something to be said for a contract with no dead money.

There was a tidbit yesterday with Vincenzo saying that there could be a possibility of an extension to his contract where he may play more than 2 years.