Washington Football Team Logo
Extremeskins

A question of mechanical philosophy

Larry

I repair computers for a living. This includes laptop computers. Therefore, I disassemble a lot of laptop computers.

The first step in disassembling most laptops is to remove the keyboard. (Or, to remove a small piece of plastic and then remove the keyboard.)

When the keyboard is removed, this then reveals the heat sink.

The heat sink is a piece of metal who's job is to get warmed up by the CPU chip. (Depending on the design, the heat may then be conducted to a heat pipe, or to some fins which a fan blows air over, or just somewhere else. But the first part in the chain is always a chunk of metal against the CPU chip.

This piece of metal must he held in very close contact with the CPU (so that heat can easily travel to the metal chunk.)

Typically, this heat sink is held in contact with the CPU by four screws. (Often the screws actually compress four springs, and the springs hold the heat sink against the CPU. Such screws have a "shoulder" on then, so that they can only be tightened so far, and no further.)

Often, the four screws are numbered, 1 through 4, by numbers stamped into the metal of the heat sink.

Now, at this point in the disassembly of the laptop, I'm always struck by a question. It's not mentioned in the service manual. There doesn't seem to be anybody I can ask the question to who I'd trust the answer I got. (I could call the special, super-duper, tech support line for people who are factory authorized technicians, but frankly, the folks in India wouldn't have this question on their script, know considerably less about laptop computers than I do, have likely never actually disassembled a single laptop, and likely don't speak enough English to even understand the question.)

So I figured I'd ask ExtremeSkins.

I don't think it's likely that I'll put a lot of faith in the answer I get, here, either (but I'll admit that there's a chance). But I do figure that