Washington Football Team Logo
Extremeskins

Legal Advice: Beards, Religion and Employment

G.A.C.O.L.B.

I've always had sensitive skin, REAL bad acne as a teen. I'm talking Quasimodo, "LOOK AWAY" type acne. As an adult, as soon as I could I've always had some sort of full beard as a kind of cover for it. Keep **** off the skin that keeps it clean and to cover up anything that did pop up. Has worked perfectly.

So fot many,many years I worked as a delivery driver for one of the major pizza chains. There came a point where my beard became an issue. They made it clear that unless it was for religious reasons, it had to go. Ok, it was for religious reasons then.

Been using that ever since (and have actually gotten closer and closer to the religious become real over time as well.)

Well right now job hunting. Found a place where I think I would love to work. Only problem, company policy is no facial hair.

Now am I wrong or would such a policy interfere with my religious federal/state rights? Anyone know?

Why have other companies allowed it then?

Yeah, I think it depends on the type of job it is. In the food service industry you can pretty much count on a strict policy on facial hair. For other companies I think the religious aspect would work in a lot of cases but you never know how bold some places might be in regards to challenging whether or not you're reasoning is legitimate.

Jesus had a beard, right?  I had a beard once and had a job during that time.  It was a scraggly ass beard too.  Now my beard is so gray that I wouldn't grow it to save my life.  Never been a grecian guy.  

:)

I could see it being an issue with food service.  They make beard nets though.

See? I've been out of the food biz for 13 months & forgot all about those...they do make 'em, & most restaurants have them provided, but if you've gotta buy 'em, they aren't expensive, certainly worth it if you need/want.