Washington Football Team Logo
Extremeskins

Legal Advice Needed

Bozman777

Hey everyone, Hoping someone could help with some legal advice in NC.

My brother was terminated from his job while on medical leave. His company placed him in rehab for alchohol addiction. He was fired while in rehab for improper use of the company credit card. I understand what he did is grounds for termination. Is is legal to terminate while on medical leave?

Thanks

I have no legal background whatsoever, so this is just an opinion, but I would think that if the firing is unrelated to the medical leave itself (him being in rehab) and because he actually did something that could get him fired, it wouldn't be illegal.

Well he says he was on a drunken binge when he used the card. He also owned up to it and offered to reimburse them. His supervisor and Manager wanted to keep him employed. He was fired

by human resources out of the corporate office in Houston Tx. Well anyway he left rehab and is back in the bottle. Convinient timing on their part huh?

He was terminated while covered by FMLA which makes things more complicated for the employer. Also I believe that he may have a possible discrimination claim based on his illness, though I'm unclear how the credit card issue plays into it.

Bottom line though, is I think regardless of the circumstances he's going to be facing an uphill battle since he did do something that was grounds for termination. Very unfortunate since it sounds like he really needs help. Sorry brother.. :(

He was terminated while covered by FMLA which makes things more complicated for the employer. Also I believe that he may have a possible discrimination claim based on his illness, though I'm unclear how the credit card issue plays into it.