Washington Football Team Logo
Extremeskins

Learning how to fish

shuler74

Hi I am totally new to fishing and was wondering what advice you guys have for me for fishing. The type of fishing I want to do is pier or surf only because I get sea sick and hate boats. As for the type of fish...anything I can eat...lol

Buy the nicest rod and reel (Penn reels are decent) that you can afford from a local tackle shop and take good care of it by rinsing it off with soap and water after you are done fishing. Salt water will ruin you reel very quickly. Not too sure about fishing the chesapeake but go get yourself some lunker city sluggos( get several colors that the tackle shop recommends). Learn a few knots from the internet before you go. Cast out and jig it off the bottom and mix up the retrieval speed.

It's as easy as bobbing for apples.

2022b_092.jpg

You probably know this already, but just in case:

Best advice is go with friends. Fishing's more fun that way. At least ask around.

If you go alone, and don't know how others fish where you're going, first go look where you want to fish, and see what everybody else is doing. Also helps to find out if you need new gear, and where to go for best prices on bait or lures. And what might be fun trying to catch. Scouting first will waste one trip, but save you a ton of time and money from that point on.

Don't go hog-wild on buying gear. Unless you hook up with guys fishing the big surf fish or trophies, walmart has all your fishing needs, except bait. You'll be happier first seeing what others use, buy the minimum gear, then if you buy fancier stuff later, you'll know better what you want.

Surf is normally best on a rising tide up to high tide. (Guess it's true in the gulf, dunno) I've had the best luck pier fishing round fall/winter for events like spot runs, but it's elbow to elbow crossing fishing lines at piers during those times too.