Washington Football Team Logo
Extremeskins

Who has been to Kauai ?

Mickalino

I am just beginning to bounce back from the financial distress I suffered several years ago and I have decided to treat myself to a long-awaited, and much-deserved vacation. My first vacation in 5 years.

I had some unused airline miles and I'm planning to use them to go to Kauai. I was actually born in Hawaii, but I have never been to the island of Kauai. Can anyone help me with the "spots" I need to hit there ? I'm not going there for the "nightlife" or "city lights", obviously. It's a very scenic island and that's why I picked that island. I am really into exploring, hiking, and nature.

What are my "cant-miss" spots for the greatest "views" and greatest "experiences with nature" ?

Im not sure about Kauai, but if you want to get out to the Carribean, I can get you an awesome deal on a three bedroom, 3 full bath condo in the private bay of Marigot, St. Lucia. Google Pelican House St. Lucia, its my father inlaws place. Hike the Piton Mtns or scuba at the base of them. Ride ATV's all over the countryside... just sayin. ;)

Congrats on the settlement! Money coming in is always a good day!

I've been. It's beautiful and sleepy there.

The Napili coast on the north side is amazing cliffs - the best way to see it is by copter or speedboat. You can hike there, but it would take you all day and kick your azz, and you won't get very far. The whole North Shore is beautiful and very hippie (in a good way). Great beaches and small stores with shave ice.

In the middle of the island in the west side mountains is Waimea canyon, which is like a mini Grand Canyon. You have to approach it from the south. It's a must see.

There are several waterfalls that you can swim under. I think one was used in Jurassic Park.

Go kayaking on the Wialua river.

There is a blowhole in Poipu on the south side. When the tide is right, it spouts like crazy.

Obviously there are a ton of beaches.