Washington Football Team Logo
Extremeskins

Advice on Moving to Raleigh/RDU Area

Doggmatic

Well... due to the economy and family, I'm strongly considering packing up and moving to RDU in North Carolina. Unfortunately, I don't know much about the area, other than driving through it on the way to college (I went to ECU). I think I may have stopped off at NC State one time.

So, where are the best places to work and live? I've got 12 years experience in marketing and communications (mostly web/internet). I hear there is a lot of technology work up there as well.

I hate to leave the beach, but you gotta do what you gotta do I guess.

Lots of tech work, great cost of living, bored to tears.

What- Charlotte is the cultural and social capital of the US? :silly:

My experience with the R/D area is based mostly on the opinions of good friends I have that live there. They all love it.

And unlike Charlotte, you can go out on Friday night with your family without fear of getting gunned down. :) (don't get me wrong I like Charlotte- but the crime there is out of control)

What- Charlotte is the cultural and social capital of the US? :silly:

My experience with the R/D area is based mostly on the opinions of good friends I have that live there. They all love it.

And unlike Charlotte, you can go out on Friday night with your family without fear of getting gunned down. :) (don't get me wrong I like Charlotte- but the crime there is out of control)

Gunned down ? This isn't SE DC. :silly:

Apparently you havent spent much time in Charlotte. Go look at the crime rates. Rising and still lower than most of the country. Especially violent crime.

I grew up in D.C. and now live in Durham. I think the area is absolutely fantastic. There is a vast amount of music and other arts, great sports, tremendous food and drink culture, and excellent outdoorsy stuff to boot. Lotsa universities = stuff to do.