Washington Football Team Logo
Extremeskins

Looking at Laptops

PokerPacker

I know other people have had threads about laptops and stuff, but i wanted my own ;)

OK, so here's the deal, i'm looking at a new laptop for college. I'm Majoring in Computer Engineering and they haven't exactly told be the recommended specs for a computer in that class. I'd kinda like to know what kind of specs i should be looking at for that major. Some things that i'm certain about is that it should be running Microsoft Windows XP professional and I want Core 2 duo processors. I'd really like to hear some recommendations from our resident laptop experts as well as other Computer Engineering majors for some help in finding the right laptop.

how much are you willing to drop? I need a laptop but only for basic functions like Office. I decided on a Dell Inspiron 1520 or something.

I guess you'd probably want one of the faster Core 2 Duo processors (like the 7100 or higher) and close to 2 gb of RAM. Maybe you should go for the Dell XPS route.

According to Consumer Reports the Mac is top, next in line are several Toshibas, the satelite series seems to be very highly rated and quite a bit less expensive. I bought one recently (too new to know if there are any problems) with 2 gigs of Ram and 200 gigs hard drive for only 650. It also had its own dedicated video chip and not an integrated one.

Good luck and do your due dilligence.

Some schools require tablet PCs for engineering. Make sure you get your specs from the school before you buy it. Even then, your first 2 years of Comp Engineering you dont need anything superb, just enough to get basic stuff done. Im going in to my third year of Computer Engineering at Penn State and am yet to use the full ability of my laptop.

I'm looking to spend probably around $1,300 or less