Washington Football Team Logo
Extremeskins

9/11 Re-visited for me.

Mickalino

In a few months, I will be returning to the place I was at, when 9/11 happened. The reason it will be intriguing is I have never been to this place before, or since, 9/11 happened...9/11 was the only time I was ever there - So when I return there, it will no doubt spark some emotions. And what's even more spookier, is the date I will be returning there will be 9/11 of this year. And I will be staying at the same resort. The place is the island of St John in the U.S. Virgin Islands. And while I'm at it, I might as well tell the whole story, because it's somewhat interesting.

At about 8am Eastern time on 9/11/01, I went to the Water Sports shop at the resort and rented a Windsurfer for an hour. The plan was for me to windsurf out a considerable distance from shore, and they would come to get me on a power boat. I was a bit of an amateur windsurfer at the time, so the benefit of having them come get me on a boat later, was appealing. So I'm windsurfing, and an hour goes by, as I continually surf, and float out further to sea. Meanwhile, back on the island, the guys at the Water Sports shop who were supposed to come get me at about 9am, overheard the news on the radio of the all planes hitting towers and buildings. Obviously, they were spellbound by the radio news, and glued around the radio continously upon hearing the events.