Washington Football Team Logo
Extremeskins

Beer 101: tutorial; I need help

AsburySkinsFan

Hello again ES, I'm back after a self imposed hiatus that I used to reflect on my attitude toward others online which was all to often sour and prickish, some might say that I should reflect longer but anyways.

When I began seminary I signed an ethos statement where I volunteer to abstain from any alcoholic beverages while a student, well I graduated, and over the past five years of school I've come to realize that as a pastor and Christian I can enjoy a brew, ferment, or distilled drink.

Anywho, for the first time in my life I have begun to enjoy the tastes of various brews, but I'm a complete novice. I've checked out some websites to research like www.bearadvocate.com, and I've tried reading some reviews but as I haven't tasted a lot of different styles I don't really have much of anything to reference stuff against.

Here's what I've found so far over the past week or so of sampling various brews.

I started with Samuel Adams and have been getting some variety packs, I got the Summer pack (Summer Ale, Pale Ale, Blackberry Witbier, Boston Lager, Sam Adams Light), and the Brewer's collection (Blackberry Witbier, Irish Red, and Black Lager).

My favorite of all of these is the Black Lager served a bit warmer than fridge temp, the Summer, Pale and Light are drinkable but I'm not going out to pick up more, because they just don't stand out much. The Blackberry and the Hefewizen are interesting and I'll probably be getting more but not regularly. I did not like the Irish Red at all, as it was WAY too bitter. The Boston Lager is good but just about the limit on my bitterness scale.