Washington Football Team Logo
Extremeskins

Our video board gets a little more obsolete

SMU Redskin

I know there have been threads about how pathetic our video boards are before, but I found this especially interesting. Everyone knows about Jerryworld and the ridiculous new HD screens they have, but I found it interesting that the Rams are renovating the Edward Jones Dome and replacing their video boards. As it turns out, the Rams have an interesting clause in their lease agreement with the city of St. Louis which states that the EJD must be rated in the top 25% (8 of 32) of NFL facilities in 2015 or they can opt out of the lease and move elsewhere. This is pretty bizarre, and considering some of the new facilities which have been built recently and will be built by then (Dallas, new Meadowlands, Arizona, Indy) it's unlikely that the facility can be brought up to those standards, but nonetheless the city of St. Louis is investing $30 million in renovations. I'm no engineer, but I find the Rams case relevant to Fedex because the configuration of the video boards is similar, in that they both cut into the club seating level as opposed to being on top of the stadium. Take a look:

edjones08950.jpg