Washington Football Team Logo
Extremeskins

Are NFL Officials Cheating? ... (LONG)

[S.S.F. | Nero]

In wake of the recent NBA gambling scandal, I've been thinking about whether or not other sports officials, specifically NFL officials, are on the take.

For years I have been a closet conspiracy theorist that something "just wasn't right" with regards to the officiating in the NFL.

As a bit of context, I am a former professional baseball umpire having worked in the minor leagues for 3 years. In every locker room that I ever dressed in, there were signs posted prohibiting all game personnel from gambling on baseball.

These same "warning" signs are posted in Major League ballparks as well.

Whether or not EVERYONE adheres to the "posted" policies, is a completely different question.

There is one play that illustrates my theory more than any other I have ever seen. It was 2004 and the Green Bay Packers were visiting at FedEx Field.

I'm sure you all remember the play I'm going to refer to. Brunell hits Portis over the middle on a dumpoff (shocker), but CP scampered 40+ yards for the go ahead TD in the closing minutes of the game. But wait, there was a flag.....?.........really....?....

Officials called James Thrash for illegal motion, erasing the score, and setting up Brunell to throw a lethal INT on the very next play. The game, as was our season, was shot.

I, like many of you, was miffed at the call and couldn't believe it even after seeing multiple replays. But then, I saw about a 1 second long segment of replay that still boggles my mind to this day. I'm hoping that someone here can corroborate what I saw.