Washington Football Team Logo
Extremeskins

Rodd Newhouse draft chat (redskins questions)

aqq

(DC): Which GM gets the highest grade for this draft? Also, we there any really dumb picks?

sn2.gifRodd Newhouse: (1:17 PM ET ) I really like wha the Raiders did in OAK. Heck, the entire Bay Area should be happy today. I gave them both A grades. I also gave As to CLV and JAX. As for bad drafts, I give that honor to WAS. What are they doing. I do not fault the Landry pick, but with only 5 picks in the draft and one very high one on draft day, they should have been more active to try and get out of that pick. they will never turn the corner by trying to build a tem through free agency. You HAVE to build through the draft. I am a pro personnel guy primarily and even agree with that philosophy.

Anthony (nyc): So the only thing the redskins could have done to have a better draft is to trade down...did it ever occur to u that nobody wanted to trade up. So they picked the best defensive player on the board and kept the whole 2008 draft picks intact and u kill them for it....Lenny P taught u well

sn2.gifRodd Newhouse: (1:58 PM ET ) They had 4 MONTHS to trade that pick. it is not like they just found out on Saturday they were picking #6. C'mon man, think about it. Yes, if you are stuck with your pick you are stuck with your pick, but to sit on #6 and not have ANYTHING else until#143 in the 5th round. taht makes NO SENSE at all. The Pats only took one pick in day one, but had other picks to move in order to make that happen, becasue they wanted to. I am almost tempeted to give them an F now after that logic on your part! I'm just messing with ya! LOL But the Skins should know better

OK--someone go back and see what we could have done in the draft if we had decided to keep trent green for the $4 mil a year he asked for, instead of spending picks getting BJ, ramsey, etc

talk about 20/20 wish lists...