Washington Football Team Logo
Extremeskins

We just blocked MYSpace.com on our network!

Zguy28

A little background, I'm a network admin on a corporate network of about 3000 people. Well we installed some reporting tools and wadda ya know, Myspace servers were the number 1 bandwidth hog, and #2, #3 and so on. Overall it was accounting for over 40% of total bandwidth just at our site alone and we have 4 T1 lines trunked together.

So we blocked it.:D

Its funny how PO'd people are now, but they won't call the helpdesk to complain. :laugh:

A little background, I'm a network admin on a corporate network of about 3000 people. Well we installed some reporting tools and wadda ya know, Myspace servers were the number 1 bandwidth hog, and #2, #3 and so on. Overall it was accounting for over 40% of total bandwidth just at our site alone and we have 4 T1 lines trunked together.

So we blocked it.:D

Its funny how PO'd people are now, but they won't call the helpdesk to complain. :laugh:

there's a way to get through the block

Not when the IP addresses are blocked on our firewall!

Yeah, there still is a way to get through these sorts of blocks, I think.

I used to work at a medium sized company that got purchased by a larger company, and then got purchased by a giant company. The giant company instituted these kinds of policies and all of a sudden a lot of the web was blocked.

I've since moved on to a very small company. At a recent inter-company meeting, a rep of the other company there (a large one) said "They've blocked this site, I can't get to it" to which our Pres replied "What? What are you talking about?"

Awesome.

all the links starting with www.myspace are blocked...but if you go in from other ways, it can work