Washington Football Team Logo
Extremeskins

Music Engineering Thread

757SeanTaylor21

So i am a artist that is slowly investing in a studio to record. In which im heavily critical of low quality music but i dont know all too much as the language is pretty foreign to me though i been picking up on a lot. So i am curious, is there any musical engineers on here? Any artists? Im not gonna be the one to push out a final product but i want a good solid recording before i bring it to a master engineer. So i have a decent rig but now im investing in an interface. Got quite of research down to a few choices and would like general advice. Anybody here?

I will never give up my Tube amps for Kemper!!!! That's about all I can contribute here. Aside from recording in a studio I've never gotten into that side of business. I'm happy when I plug my pedalboard in and it works the first time. I cant imagine running studio equipment.

54 minutes ago, Springfield said:

What’s the difference between a music engineer and a producer?

Serious question.

(also there are some artists on here @LaRonDontLikeUgly I think if I remember correctly)

Music engineering can coincide with producing. But a music engineer is those who are into mixing/mastering laid tracks while a producer is one who made the beat. They can be the same person or separate, depending on their abilities. I got a good friend who makes fire instrumentals but cant mix for his life and i got a boy that can mix a good deal and cant make beats.

Not sure where to start since I'll prolly have a lot o questions. First what kinda music do you want to mainly record? Home or commercial studio ? Whats your budget? What gear do you currently have?

Could you please explain what you mean by decent rig? CPU? DAW? What interfaces have you used?

Here's an example of some of the in the box recording I do. Used a Focusrite 2i2 and plug ins to create it.

3 hours ago, Springfield said: