Washington Football Team Logo
Extremeskins

Ideas to help me not have a D in Statistics

So...my professor has informed me that I have a D in the upper level stats class I took over winter. I need a stats class to graduate in May. This particular stats class has nothing to do with my major, but it was the only one available during winter term, so I had to take it. I'm taking 5 classes next semester, so I'm not sure I can fit in another class since I am working as well, and I'm in my last semester, so my classes have to be upper level (300-on).

Thinking quickly, I asked him for an Incomplete grade - The mark of “I” is an exceptional mark that is an instructor option. It is given only to a student whose work in a course has been qualitatively satisfactory, when, because of illness or other circumstances beyond the student’s control, he or she has been unable to complete some small portion of the work par for the course.

He just responded, and I can tell that he wants to help me, but I think he is worried about the dean of his dept since he is a grad student. He said he couldnt give me an incomplete because I had completed all the work in the class, and he didnt think it would be fair to give me extra treatment....but he then went on to ask if I have any other suggestions. Judging by the grades, it looks like I only need 10 points to get to C- level.

So, my question is this...since I know we have some professors on this board; what can I try and suggest to him that would work?

wow I took econ321 but our professor was a joke. I should have gotten a D in the class. everything was on a heavy curve. this class we had to do some many proofs i remember. was it some chinese guy?

No, I had a German guy...it was packed full of proofs and I have to memorize them for the exam and rewrite them explaining my steps. I got that all right....its the regression equations, probability functions, etc that I just sucked at.