Washington Football Team Logo
Extremeskins

Need advice: Should I go back to school?

heyholetsgogrant

About a year and a half ago, I graduated from UMD with a B.A. in Criminology. I decided that I do not want to go into corrections or join the police (I really wanted to be an Analyst in some fashion, but I don't have the experience or the background most federal agencies are looking for). Being that I have a social science degree it's almost impossible to find a decent job right now with my background (i.e no professional experience, working retail, daddy is not corporate big wig, no connections, etc). All the people I knew who got hired out of college had a connection, or neighbor who literally gave them jobs, the rest are in the same boat as me (yes, I figured out quickly that in the real world it's about connections).

I have been talking to a lot of people lately and I have been getting different opinions of what to do. A few people I talked to say it's not worth the debt and believe there is a upcoming education bubble? A few people suggested a grad school. I was thinking of going back to school for either accounting or information systems, because those lead to career paths. If you were in my shoes what would do?

Thanks,

Grant

Another option that might be considered is external professional certifications. My career stalled, even after getting my masters degree, until I started accumulating various certifications and specialties. My income went up by many 10's of thousands as a result too.

just wanted to throw out alternatives that arent very expensive yet yield great returns at times.

Education Bouble? That's crazy talk. You can never go wrong with education. But remember education is the foundation, it's not what makes you valuable, anymore. What makes you valuable is (1) experience, and (2) certifications..