Washington Football Team Logo
Extremeskins

So, what exactly would "experience" make Obama do differently?

Hubbs

One of the things that's really befuddled me during this campaign has been the never-ending assault on Obama's comparative lack of political experience. The Hillary "Day One" line was especially irritating - not only because she trained her spokespeople to say it at least 287343748 times in every press appearance, but because she implied that there would be some great difference between how she would go about her first 24 hours as President and how Obama would go about his.

Now, I'm a pro-Obama guy for this November, but it's not because of any party loyalty - the Republican and Democratic party machines are mirror images of each other, as far as I'm concerned. I can at least understand those who criticize Obama for certain policies he offers, and actually agree with some of those criticisms; I think universal healthcare run by the federal government is a terrible idea, for example. But the experience argument drives me crazy, because it may just be the most nebulous and abstract attack in the past decade of political character assassinations.

The basic jist of every experience attack I've heard is, "Something really BAD might happen! And Obama might wet himself and hide under his desk, leaving your children to DIE!" No one ever names any specific instance in which this pants-wetting could occur, and more importantly, no one really explains how another four years of attaching earmarks to bills and voting along party lines in the Senate would make Obama a better leader in a national crisis. It's left up to the general public's runaway imaginations.