Washington Football Team Logo
Extremeskins

Plane ticket pricing questions...

Coooleeey

Whats up people?

I'm pretty new to the whole flying around the country thing so I got some questions about a trip I'm looking to book. I'm looking at buying two round trip tickets to Albuquerque, NM (ABQ) as a Christmas gift to my girlfriend. Its one of the few places she hasn't been so it should be nice.

Leaving Wednesday Feb 13th from National (DCA) and flying home Monday Feb 18th anytime. Last week the price per ticket was $316 per person, when I checked yesterday it dropped to $306. This morning that flight through AA is booked and the new price for another flight through Continental is $357.

We are exchanging gifts on Dec 21st. Is there any reason to believe another flight won't pop up in that lower price range or have I learned a valuable lesson in striking when the iron is hot?

I usually use Kayak.com for ticket pricing. Priceline, Orbitz, Cheaptickets are all giving me the same price within a few dollars.

I'd stick to the Orbitz/Expedia/Travelocity/Cheaptickets of the world rather than going the bidding Pricline route...the routing and hours can get funky w/ that. I know Orbitz has a special love affair w/ majoy airports, so say, if you were flying out of Dulles instead of National, you might find get a better deal thru Orbitz than thru Expedia...just my experience...

they will always fluctuate, but as IM sure you know, the general rule is the longer you wait, the more you will have to pay.

around $300 sounds like a decent deal, I doubt they come any cheaper. Also, major airports will tend to be cheaper due to more traffic.