Washington Football Team Logo
Extremeskins

First Speeding Ticket

BayouBrave86

So as I'm going to a friend's last night, I get pulled for speeding. I was going 47 in a 35. I'm wondering if this will have any implications on my insurance? It is my first time ever getting a ticket. Any insight would be much appreciated. Isn't there a class I can take to get it taken off anyway? He didn't ask for my registration, which I thought was odd.

try and get it reduced. Most of the time you can plead it to an 11-10A which is a stop sign violation I believe. Then it's no points on your license, just more money. And since it's no points, your insurance shouldn't be affected.

And I'm not sure how it is in LA but many times you can go to the court date and the Judge will grant whats called a PBJ (Probation Before Judgement) which means you still pay the fine but no points and that you agree to keep your proverbial nose clean while driving for the next year.

Yeah, it's usually pretty lenient on the first ticket, I'm guessing. I've had the same experience, and while I can't remember the technical reason, I ended up just paying the fine -- no points. If you can find the phone number of the officer...call him and apologize, it might help you out.

State law in VA is that if you get a moving violation and you are under 21, you HAVE to go to driver improvement class. They won't take any points from your record once you complete it. It's an 8 hour course...its HELL! I've had to go twice!

Yeah, it's usually pretty lenient on the first ticket, I'm guessing. I've had the same experience, and while I can't remember the technical reason, I ended up just paying the fine -- no points. If you can find the phone number of the officer...call him and apologize, it might help you out.

yes you did...If you speed, get pulled over and get a fine, you get points...it's that easy.

yes you did...If you speed, get pulled over and get a fine, you get points...it's that easy.