Washington Football Team Logo
Extremeskins

Not sure if this was posted - Carlos Rodgers "Living up to the Legacy"

Parlett316

http://sports.ign.com/articles/621/621828p1.html

Carlos Rogers: Draft Diary 3

Living up to the legacy of the Redskins cornerbacks.

by Carlos Rogers

June 2, 2005 - As told to Jon Robinson

I've always watched and admired the cornerbacks on the Redskins. Darrell Green, Champ Bailey, Fred Smoot, and, of course, Deion Sanders. These are some of the best players to play their position, and I hope to add to that legacy.

I'll be wearing #22 on the Redskins…one number away from Deion, my favorite player of all time. When I was a kid, I didn't really collect football cards, I collected Deion cards. I would flip through the pack, and if I didn't get a Deion or a Joe Montana in my pack, I just threw the other cards away. I wore a Deion 49ers jersey, I studied his tapes, and now, I'm playing on one of his former teams.

At the Rookie Premiere a couple of weeks ago in Los Angeles, I had the chance to pose for my first football cards. They took so many pictures in so many different poses, I don't even know what it's going to look like, but it's amazing to think that there are some kids out there who might get excited to find one of my cards in a pack. And while I don't expect anyone to throw out the rest of the players if they don't get my card, it's always nice to dream. I'm also excited to see people wear my Redskins jersey. In college, people used to wear my jersey, but they only cost $60. When you buy an authentic NFL jersey of a player, you know they're a big fan because it can cost you up to $300.

The Draft