Washington Football Team Logo
Extremeskins

Best Way to Sell a Used Vehicle?

Grumpy Vet

Hi all.

I've been holding onto my old vehicle for the past several months and am ready to sell it. I got a company vehicle in February and have no real need for this truck any more. My wife still has 2 years on her lease - or we'd trade her vehicle in and have her drive the 4Runner. I'm interested to hear people's experiences and advice on how, where and when to sell it.

The vehicle is a black '99 Toyota 4Runner SR5. It has 92K miles on it and is in pretty good shape. I just had the rotors turned on it...a mass air flow sensor replaced and a couple other things fixed on it. Tires have less than 7K on them. There is wear on the steering wheel, some small stone chips on the hood, a 3" scratch on the driver door and a 2" scratch on the bumper.....You'd have to look for these things.....interior has some wear in the cargo area - but according to the description of Kelly's Blue Blook site - it would definitely be in "good" condition....and would be heading towards excellent according to the mechanic that just did the work on it last week.

It has the towing package, power sunroof, power windows, power mirrors..the normal stuff. I'm the original owner. I bought it at the end of 1998. It has never been in an accident of any type. Oil changes and everything have been done regularly.....

So - my question is - what is the best way to sell this thing?

I've heard CarMax is fairly good - but would be several grand less than selling it privately. I'm planning on detailing the car this weekend and taking it over there the beginning of next week just to see what they offer.

Anybody tried Ebay Motors?

Should I try AutoTrader or one of the local papers?

Any good websites that do this kind of thing?

No hurry to sell it - If I could move it in the next month - I'd be happy.