Washington Football Team Logo
Extremeskins

PFW: Random quotes from around the league 6-12

bubba9497

Random quotes from around the league

http://www.profootballweekly.com/PFW/Features/They+Said+It/2004/said061104.htm

Bills CB Troy Vincent, who recently was elected as NFL Players Association president, complaining that players don’t have enough time in their schedule to develop as people away from the gridiron: “I do understand that right now I’m a professional football player. But at the same time, I want to be able to walk away from this game and talk about what this game has done for me both personally and professionally. … I think about the integrity of the game. The better our product, the smarter our player, the better the game is. And the offseason workout program is in conflict with developing the 'man' side.”

Steelers WR Hines Ward, who is scheduled to make $1,688,760 in base salary this season, complaining about his contract status in the wake of his team renegotiating QB Tommy Maddox’s contract, something that is very rare for the Steelers to do: “I maxed out all my incentives… and I’m still underpaid. That’s just a fact.”

Patriots CB Ty Law, who only months ago claimed the team’s four-year, $26 million contract offer was a “slap in the face” while saying that he couldn’t imagine himself in a Pats uniform again, on his recent reconciliation with head coach Bill Belichick and return to the fold in New England: “It’s just time to move on; the past is the past. Things happen. This is a business. I’m a Patriot and I’m glad to be.”

Ravens QB Kordell Stewart on what it feels like to go through minicamp with a team that only signed him last week: “It’s like going south on I-695 doing 150 mph, and you’re new to this country so you have to read every single sign. I’m trying to see them on the go. Some of them I have to reverse and take a peek at before going again. Eventually, I’ll get it.”