Washington Football Team Logo
Extremeskins

Any MBAs, Chemists or Economists in the Tailgate?

Elessar78

I'm in the exploratory phase of a career change and was wondering if there were any MBAs, chemists or economists here in the tailgate that could give insight into what they do? I'm looking to find if it's a good fit for me.

I've set a 5 year horizon to get my degree.

Currently, I'm a graphic designer. I'm ambivalent about it and can't see myself in the field for the rest of my life. I don't think anything is particularly wrong with it but it's just not the right environment for me. I've had a decent career working for an agency, a publisher, and corporate in-house. So I've had a gamut of experiences and it's just not for me.

I think I have lots of questions. I've done some research on the internet and I'm trying to line up meetings/interviews with chemistry professors and high school teachers about possible careers.

On the front end, what kind of math and chemistry skills would I need to brush up on? I'm 8 years from my last math class so I'd probably need to brush up on that just to do well on an entrance exam.

Further down, what are the hot (read: lucrative or exciting) segments of chemistry right now that I could focus on? My issue with an MBA is that it's a general approach to a graduate degree, which is not bad and it has a broad application. However, I personally like the idea of having an expertise in a particular domain.