Washington Football Team Logo
Extremeskins

Common Cold Etiquette

bschurm

Ok, I just left the washing your hands thread and it reminded me of some things about the Common Cold that have me concerned. So I wanted to ask you guys if I am being overly cautious?

1.) I am under the belief that if you are sick (contagious, ie. the common cold, the flu) then stay home!

I am a student and when I am sick, I contact the professor beforehand to let them know I am sick and I stay out of class! It is selfish of me to think that I should go to class sick without regard to the well being of others.

2.) If I see you coughing and sneezing, I am NOT going to shake your hand and will likely keep a fairly significant distance between us.

I was in class the other day and some guy was hacking one up and told the professor he was sick. I immediately turned in the other direction to avoid this guy.

Some people seem to be put off by this!?!?!?!?!?!

3.) After shaking someone's hand, I often wash my hands almost immediately. Actually, I wash my hands very often.

4.) In class the other day I had some guy cough on the back of my neck. I was very disturbed by this. I turned around and let him know this was not acceptable.

Yesterday, I had some girl breathing on the back of my neck in class, her breath stunk, but what concerned me most was if she had anything to pass on.

So, does this sound anal or do I have some legitimate concerns? Are there others who think like this?

If it is just a cold (no fever), I will go to work. Once you have a child, it seems like you have different cold/virus every other week. I rarely cough into my hands. My habit from working in restaraunts is to cough into my forearm. That being said, if I am sick, and you say 'no thanks' to a hand shake, I'm not going to be offended. By the why, you should probably just buy some Coldeze. If you take them quickly after being exposed, they work pretty well.