Washington Football Team Logo
Extremeskins

45 Pound Bench Press

jhayunga

This is a challenge to everyone responding to the 225lb bench press string. I have been working out regularly for 5 years. My bench press varies from 250- 290 depending on how disciplined I am being with my workouts. One day a freind of mine challenged me with this. try to bench press just the bar (45 lbs) 100 times. I try it from time to time. The most I have ever been able to do is 79 times. Not a regular workout thing, but its fun to try once in a while.

Now, I do remember something like that, from my youth.

In Jr. High, and the first two years of High School, I ran Cross Country. For the High School part of that, I ran every weekday. (Coach was a runner, and had voluntary workouts during the offseasons and summer).

We moved to NoVa before starting my Jr year. To a place in Fairfax Co on a twisty gravel road, with no sidewalks, where you couldn't possibly run without taking your life in your hands.

My brother (also a runner) and I came up with an idea for how to exercise indoors.

We went downstairs to the weight bench (which neither of us had used), got two 10-pound weights, put the weights on our shoulders, and did 100 deep-knee bends. (Walking up two flights of stairs, afterwards, was interesting, too.)

After running daily for four years, I was 6-3 and weighed 155. After doing this exercise several times, I still weighed 155, but I swear my thigh measurement doubled.

I also wondered why, in gym class, the jocks all seemed impressed that I was able to leg press 900 lbs on the nautilus machine. (I knew I was just a wimpy runner, and assumed they were making fun of me.)

Now I read scouting reports that make me think that I was leg pressing weights that would put me in Rock Cartwright's class.