Washington Football Team Logo
Extremeskins

Marty wins Coach of the year

afparent

NEW YORK (AP) - Marty Schottenheimer's guidance of one of the great turnarounds in NFL history won him The Associated Press 2004 NFL Coach of the Year award.

Schottenheimer took the San Diego Chargers from tailender to division champion, from a 4-12 embarrassment to a 12-4 power that was to host the New York Jets in a playoff game Saturday night. The 61-year-old, who also has worked in Cleveland, Kansas City and Washington, did his best work of an 18{-season head coaching career.

"There is a great sense of satisfaction when you're able to get things going in the right direction," said Schottenheimer, who received 27{ of the 48 votes from a national panel of writers and broadcasters who cover pro football. "I always pride myself on one thing - I think I'm a teacher. It's fun to see your players listen and work together to apply the basic philosophies and concepts that are important to success."

Many of Schottenheimer's team have done that. He's coached division winners in Cleveland, where he was the head man from mid-1984 through 1988. And in Kansas City (1989-98). He even had an 8-8 record in his one season in Washington, and considering how other Redskins coaches have done for owner Daniel Snyder, that was impressive, too.

But his third season in San Diego has been charmed. And perhaps a bit lucky, because Schottenheimer was looking for a different quarterback and hoped to go with first-round draft pick Phillip Rivers.

When Rivers held out for half of training camp, Schottenheimer stuck with Drew Brees. Brees wound up as Comeback Player of the Year and Schottenheimer became Coach of the Year for the first time.

His players say Schottenheimer's decision to form a players council and ease up in practices, as well as remodeling the locker room, made a big difference.