Washington Football Team Logo
Extremeskins

Paul Woody: Skins' Barrow can hold foes accountable

bubba9497

Skins' Barrow can hold foes accountable

Barrow ready to start anew after Giants cut out their middle man

BY PAUL WOODY

TIMES-DISPATCH STAFF WRITER May 1, 2004

http://www.timesdispatch.com/servlet/Satellite?pagename=RTD%2FMGArticle%2FRTD_BasicArticle&c=MGArticle&cid=1031775201350&path=!sports&s=1045855934844

ASHBURN - When he was a freshman at the University of Miami, people kept telling Mike Barrow that a football player could not major in accounting.

So Barrow majored in accounting.

"I figured that if the football thing didn't work out, I could always get a job with an accounting degree," Barrow said. "Growing up and watching gangster movies and all that, it seemed like accountants always had a very important job.

"And people told me I couldn't do it. That's another reason I got a degree in accounting."

Barrow is not opposed to accepting a challenge. He accepted a significant one when he signed on to be a Washington Redskins middle linebacker.

The position has its demands, and intense scrutiny comes with the territory. Barrow was ready for that when he reported for the Redskins' minicamp this weekend.

The Redskins were unhappy with the production they got from Jeremiah Trotter at middle linebacker the past two years, and Trotter will not be around for 2004. Instead of getting by with Kevin Mitchell at the spot, the Redskins brought in Barrow, with his 11 years experience and his 1,239 tackles.

"The guy has a ton of experience, really good leadership skills, he's intelligent, and gives us good direction on the field," said Redskins linebackers coach Dale Lindsey. "He plays the game the way it should be played: very tough and physical.

"He's a very sharp guy. A guy like that is too smart for me. It's nice to have smart players. They make you a better coach. They can grasp a concept and expand on it."