Washington Football Team Logo
Extremeskins

The Wine Thread

Dont Taze Me Bro

So, the wife and I were talking about making our own wine.  Being complete newbs we would love tips/suggestions.  It seems a lot easier than making beer.

Some questions I have are is it better to use grapes versus juice concentrate?  We haven't tried to start growing our own grapes and don't really have the space to do so.

Also feel free to post wine recommendations as far as wine that is already bottled. 

On 5/6/2017 at 9:22 PM, twa said:

I have grapes, but making wine seems work. (looks to be a good crop this year)

Stepmother used to make it ,mainly berries though.

Yeah, the best way to do it would be grow my own grapes.  But I don't think I have the space to grow 85-90 lbs of grapes required to make 5 gallons of wine (which is what the standard equipment makes).  I read that one pound of grapes is approximately 80 grapes.  So 80 x 90 = 7200 grapes..........that's a lot of damn grapes :ols:

On 5/6/2017 at 9:28 PM, twa said:

Juice em and add sugar is all I recall then a jug with a balloon for a lid

add

and wine yeast

you can do the more complicated way

http://dish.allrecipes.com/how-to-make-wine-at-home/

I've been researching the process and it seems pretty easy when compared to home brewing beer.  From what I can gather, you mash the grapes into a plastic bucket, pulp, skins and juice.  Add sugar or honey and wine yeast and cover the top with a towel or cheese cloth to start the primary fermentation.  Then after 3-7 days (7 being the most) you siphon it into the 5 gallon glass carboy and then put in an airlock and let it sit for 2 months.  This step gets the wine out leaving behind the sediment at the bottom and dead yeast that dies off during the process.  Then you bottle and let it sit longer if you can.