Washington Football Team Logo
Extremeskins

Mark May has a point.

Art

Last week more than anything I was disturbed by the number of mistakes we made. More than the emerging hysteria over the play of the defensive line even. After the Cowboy game last year I wrote that we are just a stupid team that was did the fundamental things poorly. The simple things. Picking up fumbles. Lining up without jumping off. Taking a dumb holding penalty.

Basic dumb sh!t.

So far this preseason that's continued. It's continued for a decade. It's frustrating because you watch, or in my case listen, to these games and you see we are a team that can make plays. There's enough talent to compete and excel. But for too long we've been a team that simply can't seem to appreciate success. We must screw it up. This is going to become my key worry with this team until there's a clear sign that we're overcoming this sort of stuff.

Art, I don't understand. If I'm a coach for the skins and my players are acting this undisciplined, I seriously challenge these guys at practice. I purposely humiliate these guys at practice until they obtain the focus that is needed. Our coaches need to step up their discipline and have serious ramifications for these same, stupid mistakes. My point is basically that there are ways to crack down on such stupidity. Are all these ways being explored? Is our camp too soft? Are our means of establishing discipline too soft? I don't know the answer b/c I'm not there day in and day out at practice. One thing I do know is that these multi-millionaire prima-donna's are in the business of football, and in football you are allowed to beat the s@*# out of people. If I was a coach on this staff, I would have a sincere talk with the players, and if things haven't turned around, I would do everything in my power to work these punks and kick their ass until they were willing to show the professionalism and discipline that is necessary at this level. Treat them like the amatuer id