Washington Football Team Logo
Extremeskins

Help getting a J.O.B.

iMeast

Friends, DMVians, Redskins fans:

I graduated from the University of Tennessee, Knoxville last May with a Master of Science in Communication and Information: Journalism and Electronic Media. Since then I have completed an internship (unpaid) and worked as a freelance writer for a few publications and blogs. However what I have not been able to do is secure proper employment ... You know the type that you could call a career. In the current economic climate you have to look for any way to get ahead and that is why I am posting this thread.

I would very much like to move to the DMV area to play my craft, but I don't know many people in the area leaving me short on contacts and sending resumes through email seems fruitless. So if any of you, my fellow ESers, work somewhere that is looking to hire someone with my skill set, know anybody that does, etc. I would really appreciate the help. I am not just interested in journalistic endeavors. I am also interested in public affairs work, communication positions, writer-editor, marketing, PR, working for a government agency and any other field my degrees could be applied to. Thanks to those that read this and any help you can offer in advance.

HTTR

usajobs.gov. search the jobs there. create an account. Don't aim too high. Just get your foot in the door. Once you get a Government job, you can move up quickly through the lower levels, or make lateral transitions to other agencies.

Unfortunately, your timing is very bad. Competition is fierce right now. Apply for as many jobs as you possibly can. Your current full time job should be applying for jobs. And then some.

Also, read this document:

http://environment.research.yale.edu/documents/downloads/h-n/KSA_Writing_pg_Jun_2006.pdf

It will help you tailor your resume and answer the questions the way the Government hiring people want to hear it.